Nitish Kumar

Nitish Kumar

Nitish Kumar

Date of Birth : 1 March, 1951

Mini Biography :

Nitish Kumar was born (1 March 1951) in Bakhtiarpur, Bihar to Kaviraj Ram Lakhan Singh and Parmeshwari Devi. His father was a freedom fighter and was close to the great Gandhian Bihar Bibhuti Anugrah Narayan Sinha, one of the founders of modern Bihar. His nickname is ‘Munna’.He is a teetotaler, doesn’t smoke, and is a frugal eater.He has a degree in Electrical Engineering from the Bihar College of Engineering, now NIT Patna.

Nitish Kumar, is the Chief Minister of Bihar – an eastern state of India. He is an Indian politician who leads his party, Janata Dal (United). As the Chief Minister he has gained popularity by building long-delayed bridges, re-laying roads that had ceased to exist, appointing over 100,000 school teachers, ensuring that doctors worked in primary health centers, and keeping crime in check.

Nitish Kumar participated in Jayaprakash Narayan’s movement between 1974 and 1977, and was close, among others, to Satyendra Narayan Sinha, a prominent leader of the time. He was first elected to the Bihar Legislative Assembly in 1985. In 1987, he became the President of the Yuva Lok Dal. In 1989, he became the Secretary-General of the Janata Dal in Bihar. He was also elected to the 9th Lok Sabha the same year.

In 1989, Nitish Kumar was appointed as the Union Minister of State for Agriculture in the Cabinet of Prime Minister Vishwanath Pratap Singh. In 1991, he was re-elected to the Lok Sabha and became General Secretary of the Janata Dal at the national level and the Deputy Leader of Janata Dal in the Parliament. He represented Barh parliamentary constituency (Bihar) in the Lok Sabha between 1989 and 2004.

He briefly served as the Union Cabinet as Minister for Railways and Minister for Surface Transport and then as the Minister for Agriculture in 1998-99. In August 1999, he resigned following the railway accident at Gaisal in North East India.

Later that year, he rejoined the Union Cabinet as Minister for Agriculture. From 2001 to May 2004 he served as the Union Cabinet Minister for Railways in the NDA Government of Atal Behari Vajpayee. In the 2004 Lok Sabha elections he contested elections from two constituencies, Barh and Nalanda. He was elected from Nalanda but lost from his traditional constituency, Barh. He was the leader of the Janata Dal (United) Parliamentary Party in the Lok Sabha.

In 2000, Nitish Kumar was appointed the Chief Minister of Bihar but had to resign 7 days later (March 3, 2000 – March 10, 2000). In November 2005, he led the National Democratic Alliance to victory in the 2005 Bihar assembly elections bringing an end to the 15-year rule of the Lalu Prasad Yadav-led Rashtriya Janata Dal. He was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Bihar on 24 November 2005.He has been voted many times the best chief minister in the country.

Nitish Kumar and Sushil Kumar Modi will be sworn in as Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister

A day after its historic landslide victory in the Bihar Assembly elections, the National Democratic Alliance unanimously voted for Janata Dal (United) leader Nitish Kumar to head the party and the alliance in the Legislature. Mr. Kumar and Bharatiya Janata Party...

Edit | Read full story »

Bihar Elections Results : Nitish won a landslide victory with JD(U) and the BJP alliance

Creating history in Bihar's politics, Nitish Kumar once again back to the power of the state as the poll result on Nov 24 showed that Nitish won a landslide victory with JD(U) and the BJP alliance grabbed four-fifths of the...

Edit | Read full story »

Rabri Devi calls Nitish Kumar “dishonest and thief”

Campaigning in Bihar Assembly elections reached a new low with former chief minister Rabri Devi on Friday calling Chief Minister Nitish Kumar dishonest and thief. Nitish Kumar beiman aur chor hai, iske raj ka khatma karna hai (Nitish is dishonest and...

Edit | Read full story »

Bihar Elections : Battle to win muslim vote on a high

With Bihar Assembly Election knocking at the door, it’s high time for politicians to woo back masses with promises and offers to achieve win in this battle of votes. With 16percent voters residing in Bihar being Muslim, the battle to...

Edit | Read full story »

Bihar Elections : Modi, Varun not to campaign in Bihar

Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi will not campaign for Assembly elections in Bihar and neither will Varun Gandhi — the two Hindutva mascots that Chief Minister Nitish Kumar wanted to keep out of electioneering to protect his minority-friendly image. The...

Edit | Read full story »

Bihar Elections : NCP to contest assembly election in Bihar about 150 seats

NCP national general secretary Tariq Anwar was meeting a number of senior politicians who made a beeline for the party office after being denied ticket from their parties. While Anwar was interviewing them, a panel headed by former minister Nawal Kishore...

Edit | Read full story »

JMM to fight Bihar Assembly Elections

JMM chief Shibu Soren said his party has prepared to fight the Bihar assembly election next month. Soren said JMM leaders were chalking out strategy to make other political parties feel their strong presence in the elections. JMM, which has not...

Edit | Read full story »

Congress’ new slogan for Bihar Assembly elections

Congress unveiled a new slogan for the Bihar Assembly elections projecting itself as the only party which could bring about development in the state. "Hamari ladai hai unse jo sirf baaten banate hain, Ab jarurat hai kaam ki, Bihar ke...

Edit | Read full story »

Advani, Rajnath and Nitish to campaign for Jharkhand polls

NDA will counter the Congress' poll campaign led by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and party chief Sonia Gandhi for the Jharkhand Assembly elections by fielding its national leaders like L K Advani, Rajnath Singh and Nitish Kumar. Senior Bharatiya Janata Party...

Edit | Read full story »

India Elections : Give special status to Bihar, take support : Nitish

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, whose Janata Dal-United party is an important member of the National Democratic Alliance, on Friday said the new government at the Centre must give his state special status. "Whoever forms a government the aim is to...

Edit | Read full story »

Leave a Reply

You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>