Ajit Jogi

Ajit Jogi

Ajit Jogi

Date of Birth : 29 April, 1946

Mini Biography :

Ajit Jogi (born 29 April 1946) is the first chief minister of the state of Chhattisgarh, India. He currently represents the Marwahi Scheduled Tribe constituency in the state assembly and is a member of the Indian National Congress (INC) political party.Jogi studied Mechanical Engineering at the Maulana Azad College of Technology, Bhopal, winning the University Gold Medal in 1967. After having worked briefly as a lecturer at the Govt. Engineering College, Raipur, he took the nationwide examination conducted by Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) and was selected for the Indian Police Service (IPS, 1968-70) and Indian Administrative Service (IAS, 1970-86). He holds the all-India Record for the longest serving District Magistrate & Collector (13 years), having served as collector of Sidhi, Shahdol, Raipur and Indore.

At the behest of the then Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi, he resigned to take the plunge into politics and become Member of the Rajya Sabha (India’s Upper House), where he served two terms (1986-92, 92-98). In 1998, he won the Raigarh seat after defeating the BJP state president and entered the Lok Sabha for the first time. He was the Congress Party’s Chief Spokesperson and Whip- positions he held until he was elected Chief Minister of the newly created state of Chhattisgarh on November 1, 2000. Despite having suffered a severe spinal cord injury while campaigning during the 2004 Lok Sabha elections, he remained the only elected Congress Member of Parliament from Chhattisgarh (Mahasamund) in the 14th Lok Sabha (2004-2009). Following his election to the state assembly in December 2008 from his ancestral seat Marwahi, he resigned from the Lok Sabha to return to state politics.

Jogi has served and headed several Parliamentary Committees, the SC, ST and OBC Department of the All India Congress Committee and been President of the Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee, apart from being on the Board of a number of educational institutions. Jogi also holds the record for having won both the Vidhan Sabha and Lok Sabha elections with the highest margin in the state of Chhattisgarh.

Positions held

* 1986-87 Member, All India Congress Committee (AICC) on welfare of scheduled castes and scheduled tribes.
* 1986-1998 Member, Rajya Sabha (2 terms)
* 1987-1989 General secretary, Pradesh Congress Committee, Madhya Pradesh Also, member of committees on Public Undertakings, Industries and Railways.
* 1989 Central Observer of the Indian National Congress for elections to Lok Sabha from constituencies in Manipur.
* 1995 Central Observer of the Indian National Congress for elections to Sikkim Assembly.
* 1995-96 Chairman of Parliamentary Standing Committee on Science and Technology and Environment and Forests
* 1996 Member, Core group, AICC Parliamentary elections (Lok Sabha)
* 1997 Observer, Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee Elections. Member, AICC. Member of committees on Transport and Tourism, Rural and Urban Development, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Coal, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Energy, Public Accounts Committee, Convenor, Sub-Committee on Indirect Taxes, Panel of Vice-Chairpersons, Rajya Sabha
* 1998 Elected to 12th Lok Sabha
* 1998-2000 Spokesman, AICC, Whip, Congress Parliamentary Party, Working President, Madhya Pradesh Congress Committee
* 1998-99 Member, Committee on Human Resource Development and its Sub-Committee-II on Medical Education, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Coal
* 2000-2003 Chief minister of Chhattisgarh
* 2004-2008 Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha)
* 2004-2008 Member, Parliamentary Consultative Committee on Home Affairs
* 2005 Chairman, AICC Central Election Committee for Arunachal Pradesh VS election
* 2006 Co-chairman, AICC Central Election Committee for West Bengal VS election
* 2004- Member, Congress Working Committee (CWC)
* 2006- Chairman, ST Department, AICC
* 2008- Member of Legislative Assembly from Marwahi,Chhattisgarh

Books published

1. The Role of District Collector (LBNAA)
2. Administration of Peripheral Areas (LBNAA)
3. Drishtikon: An anthology of articles written for Dainik Bhaskar (1997-99) (Rajkamal)
4. Sadi ke mod par (Rajkamal Publications, Delhi)
5. Phoolkunwar (Rajkamal)
6. Mor Madar ke thaap: A Collection of poems (jointly with Dr Renu Jogi)
7. Short stories, articles in Dharmayug, Saptaahik Hindustan, Sarita, Indian Express, Hindu, Times Of India, Dainik Bhaskar, etc.

Leave a Reply

You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>