Bhupinder Singh Hooda

Bhupinder Singh Hooda

Bhupinder Singh Hooda

Date of Birth : September 15, 1947

Mini Biography :
Bhupinder Singh Hooda (born September 15, 1947) is an Indian politician, a leader of the Indian National Congress and the current Chief Minister of Haryana.He became the chief minister of Haryana for the first time in March 2005. After the Haryana assembly elections, 2009, he again became the chief minister in October 2009.Bhupinder Singh Hooda was born at village Sanghi to Choudhary Ranbir Singh, in a Hooda family gotra Jats in Rohtak district.

He is an Alumnus of Sainik school, Kunjpara. He did his B.A., LL.B. was educated at Punjab University, Chandigarh and University of Delhi, Delhi

Previously, he has been a Member of Indian Parliament (Lok Sabha) for four terms in 1991,1996,1998,2004 and the Leader of Opposition in Haryana’s Legislative Assembly from 2001 to 2004. Ch. B.S. Hooda also served as the President of HPCC (Haryana Pradesh Congress Committee) from 1996 to 2001. For three consecutive Lok Sabha terms he entered Indian Parliament defeating Ch. Devilal another tall Jat leader in famous electoral battles fought in the Jat heartland of Rohtak in Haryana. Mr. Hooda is well known for leading various farmer movements in Haryana. He is from the Indian National Congress. He is also a Member of the Bar Council of Punjab and Haryana.

He attended international Conferences like World Youth Festival in U.S.S.R, World Parliamentary Conference in China, International Conference in USSR as a delegate of AICC and OISCA and International Conferences in Japan and South Korea.

He is also President, All India Young Farmers’ Association, Haryana ; Ex-Member, Market Committee, Rohtak; Director, Bank of India, 1989-92; Secretary, Farmers’ Parliamentary Forum, 1991 onwards; Founder-Member and Working President of All India Freedom Fighters’ Successors’ Organisation; Working President, National Federation Railway Porters, Vendors and Bearers. Elected as a President for the Khadi & Village Industries Commission Employees Union & Patron for the National Khadi & Village Industries Board’s Employees Federation – an apex body of all State K&V.I Board’s Employees Unions.

Bhupinder Singh Hooda again nominated by Congress President Sonia Gandhi on Saturday as Chief Minister of Haryana after tough political battle among other leaders.

During his first term as Chief Ministership, Bhupender Singh Hooda led many schemes and also led Congress to state power once again. One of the big shot he got in arm was that vetern leaders like Prof Sampat Singh joined the Congress Party ending 32 years old ties with INLD. Prof Sampat Singh later won as Congress candidate from Nalwa constituency.

Positions held

* 1972-1977 – President, Block Congress Committee, Kiloi,Haryana

* 1980-87 – Senior Vice-president, Haryana Pradesh Youth Congress, Chairman of Panchayat Samiti Rohtak, Chairman of Panchayat Parishad of Haryana.

* 1991 – Elected to 10th Lok Sabha

* 1996 – Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (2nd term)

* 1998 – Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (3rd Term)

* 2000 – Elected to 9th Haryana Vidhan Sabha from Kiloi constituency.

* 2002-2004 – Leader of Opposition in Haryana Assembly

* 2005 – Elected to 10th Haryana Vidhan Sabha (bye-election from Kiloi) with a record margin of 1,03,635 vote. March 5, 2005 – Sworn in as Chief Minister of Haryana

* 2009 – Elected to 11th Haryana Vidhan Sabha from “Haryana – Garhi Sampla-Kiloi” and got 89849 Votes.

* October 25, 2009 – Sworn in as Chief Minister of Haryana for the second time

Chavan, Hooda and Dorjee Khandu set to retain jobs

A day after results of the assembly elections, Congress was busy assembling the pieces of government formation in Maharashtra and Ashok Chavan Congress leaders celebrates their victory in Maharashtra state assembly elections. Haryana, reconfirming its frontrunners in the states and altering...

Edit | Read full story »

Haryana Assembly Elections : 432 nominations rejected in Haryana

The nomination papers of 432 candidates, mostly Independents, were rejected while those of 1433 were found in order after scrutiny of papers today for the October 13 Haryana Assembly elections. Friday was the last day for filing nominations for the 90...

Edit | Read full story »

Haryana Elections : Cong announced its first list of 68 candidates

Congress announced its first list of 68 candidates for elections to the 90-member state assembly. The party ignored the claim of former deputy chief minister and four-time legislator from Kalka, Chander Mohan. Twenty-two candidates are yet to be announced. Chander Mohan had...

Edit | Read full story »

Haryana assembly dissolved, polls likely in mid-Oct

The Haryana Vidhan Sabha was dissolved on Friday by Governor Jagannath Pahadia on the recommendation of Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda. Earlier in the day, the State Cabinet headed by Mr. Hooda had unanimously recommended to the Governor dissolution of the...

Edit | Read full story »

Leave a Reply

You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>