Arjun Munda

Arjun Munda

Arjun Munda

Date of Birth : January 5, 1968

Mini Biography :
Arjun Munda (born January 5, 1968 in Khrangajhar Jamshedpur) is a former Chief Minister of Jharkhand, a state of India. Only age 35 upon his appointment as Chief Minister, Arjun Munda was the youngest ever Indian to hold that post.His political career began in the 1980s as part of the Jharkhand movement, spearheaded by the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha. This movement sought to create a tribally-dominated state from the southern area of India’s northern Bihar state. Munda’s political clout grew due to his focus on helping tribals and other backwards. In 1995, he was elected to the Bihar state assembly, representing Kharswan. He retained that seat in 2000 and 2005 elections, but as of 2000, he was a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Jharkhand was formed in 2000, with the BJP forming the first government under Babulal Marandi. Arjun Munda served as the Social Welfare Minister in his cabinet. In 2003, as the non-BJP Legislators supporting the government called for Marandi’s replacement, it was Munda, viewed as a strong tribal leader, who was considered the best alternative. Munda took the position of Chief Minister on March 18, 2003 and held it until his resignation on March 2, 2005, which occurred after inconclusive state elections and the intervention of the state’s governor, Syed Sibtey Razi.

Ten days later, on March 12, 2005; however, Munda was reappointed Chief Minister, and won a vote of confidence in the state assembly on March 15, 2005, by a vote of 40 to 37, and thus began his second term as Chief Minister. His 2nd term has been likewise marked by the need of support for several independent Legislators. He had to resign again on September 14, 2006 under political compulsions. He has been replaced by Madhu Koda. He is currently the Leader of the Opposition in Jharkhand.He has again regained his position in the year 2009 as chief minister for jharkhand putting down madhu koda.

Munda has served as the Chairman of: Rural Integrated Development Center (Gramya Sangrama Vikas Kendra) of Jamshedpur, the All Jharkhand Yoga Association, the Shaheed Smarak Smati of Kharswan, the Beenapari High School of Jamshedpur and the Jharkhand Deaf and Dumb Association.

India Elections : Seven former Chief Ministers took oath

Seven former Chief Ministers -- of Karnataka, Jharkhand and Delhi took oath as members of the 15th Lok Sabha. Delhi's first woman Chief Minister Sushma Swaraj, who won the just-concluded election from Vidisha in Madhya Pradesh, took oath in Sanskrit. Former Prime...

Edit | Read full story »

Leave a Reply

You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>