Babu Lal Marandi

Babulal Marandi

Babulal Marandi

Date of Birth : 11 January 1958

Mini Biography :
Babu Lal Marandi (born 11 January 1958) was the first Chief Minister of Jharkhand. He also held posts like National Vice President, Bharatiya Janata Party and Minister of State, Forests & Environment, Govt. of India.Babulal was born in a remote Kodia Bandh village under Tisri block of Giridih district of the now Jharkhand province.After passing high school, he moved to Giridih College from where he did his intermediate and graduation. It was there that he came in contact with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh.

Later, he moved to Ranchi where he did his post-graduation in Geography from Ranchi University. He worked as a teacher in a village primary school for a year before giving up the job to work for the Sangh Parivar. He served as the organising secretary of the Jharkhand region of Vishwa Hindu Parishad.

In 1991, the BJP gave him the ticket to contest from the Dumka (reserved) Lok Sabha seat, but lost. In 1996, he lost to Shibu Soren by just 5,000 odd votes. The BJP, in the meantime, made him president of the party’s Jharkhand unit.

It was under Marandi’s leadership that the party won 12 out of 14 Lok Sabha seats in Jharkhand region in the 1998 election. Marandi, a Santhal, led the tally by defeating Jharkhand Mukti Morcha supremo Shibu Soren, another Santhal.

The victory gave an immense boost to Marandi’s profile and he was included in the Union Council of Ministers, one of four ministers from Bihar.

After the bifurcation of Bihar in 2000, NDA came to power in Jharkhand with Marandi as the Chief Minister. However, he had to resign and make way for Arjun Munda (BJP) for the post in 2002 following pressure exerted by coalition allies primarily JD(U). Thereafter, he increasing moved away from political mainstage of Jharkhand irrespective of NDA being in power in Ranchi. In the 2003 Lok Sabha Elections, he contested from Koderma as a BJP candidate. He won the seat while all the other sitting MPs of NDA from Jharkhand including union ministers Yashwant Sinha and Reeta Verma lost their respective seats. His differences with the state leadership continued to increase and he even started criticising the state government in public. Eventually, he resigned from both Koderma LS seat and the primary membership of BJP in 2006 and floated a new political outfit named Jharkhand Vikas Morcha.

In the subsequent by-elections for the Koderma seat, he contested as an independent candidate and emerged victorious. He again retained Koderma seat in 2009 loksabha general election.

Leave a Reply

You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>