B S Yeddyurappa

B S Yeddyurappa

B S Yeddyurappa

Date of Birth : February 27, 1943

Mini Biography :

Yeddyurappa was born on February 27, 1943 in the village of Bookanakere in the Mandya district of the state of Karnataka.His father Siddalingappa and mother Puttathayamma belonged to the Lingayat community. He was named after the presiding deity of a Shaivite temple built by the saint Siddalingeshwara at Yediyur in Tumkur district of Karnataka. He lost his mother at the age of four.He completed his education with a degree in Bachelor of Arts.

Dr. Bookanakere Siddalingappa Yeddyurappa, is an Indian politician and the 25th Chief Minister of Karnataka, sworn in on 30 May 2008. He belongs to the BJP and represents Shikaripura in the Karnataka legislative assembly. He became the Chief Minister of Karnataka after the BJP’s success in the 2008 Karnataka Assembly election. He was also briefly Chief Minister in November 2007 before the coalition government with Janata Dal (Secular) collapsed. He is the first person from the BJP to become the Chief Minister of a South Indian state.

Yeddyurappa’s stint in public life began when he was appointed secretary of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh’s Shikaripur unit in 1970. In 1972, he was elected President of the Taluk unit of the Jan Sangh.In 1975, he was elected President of the Town Municipality of Shikaripur. He was imprisoned during the Emergency in India between 1975 and 1977 and lodged in the Bellary and Shimoga jails. In 1980, he was appointed President of the Shikaripur taluk unit of the BJP and he later went on to become the president of BJP’s Shimoga district unit in 1985. In 1988, he became the President of the BJP unit of the state of Karnataka. He was first elected to the lower house of Karnataka Legislature in 1983 and has since represented the Shikaripur constituency six times. He has been a member of the Seventh, Eighth, Ninth, Tenth,Twelth and Thirteenth Legislative Assemblies (lower house) of Karnataka. In the Tenth Assembly, he was chosen Leader of Opposition. In 1999, he lost the elections but was nominated by the BJP to become a member of the legislative council (upper house) of Karnataka.

Yeddyurappa undertook a padayatra of bonded labourers from Shikaripur to Shimoga in 1981. Two years later, the party fielded him in the Assembly polls and he became one of the 18 BJP winners. He has won six elections from the constituency since, losing only once, in 1999. In between, he became the state president of the BJP twice, and a national secretary in 1992. A perennial ‘yatri’, like L K Advani, he has led a Cycle Yatra, Sankalp Yatra, Save Gramrajya Yatra, Save Cauvery Yatra, and a Bagar-hukam Kisan Yatra, mainly to highlight the problems of peasants.

Yeddyurappa successfully led the Farmers March (Raitha Jatha) from Basavana Bagewadi to Bangalore City during 1988 and led one more Farmers March to Bangalore City from Banavasi. He prevented the introduction of the Bill aimed at the eviction of unauthorized cultivators (introduced by late B. Rachaiah, the then Forest Minister). He also organized a march from Shimoga to Bangalore City for the cause of Save Grama Rajya. This 18 day march was inaugurated by L.K. Advani in 1994. Yeddyurappa led another Farmers March to Save Cauvery from Talacauvery to Kannambadi (K.R.S).

He rose to prominence when he helped Janata Dal (Secular) party’s H. D. Kumaraswamy to bring down the coalition government of Dharam Singh. Kumaraswamy formed the government with the help of the Bharatiya Janata Party in Karnataka headed by Yeddyurappa. A deal was struck between the Janata Dal (Secular) and Bharatiya Janata Party, which specified that H. D. Kumaraswamy would be the Chief Minister for the first 20 months, after which Yeddyurappa would become to Chief Minister for the remaining 20 months of the current tenure of the Legislature. Yeddyurappa was nominated as the Deputy Chief Minister as well as the finance minister in Kumaraswamy’s Government.

In Karnataka’s 2008 Assembly elections, Yeddyurappa contested from Shikaripura against the Samajwadi Party’s S. Bangarappa, another ex-Chief Minister. The Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) did not field a candidate in the constituency and backed Bangarappa, but despite this, Yeddyurappa won the seat by a margin over 45,000 votes. He took the oath of office as Chief Minister on May 30, 2008.

In December 2008, Yeddyurappa has been conferred with Honorary Doctorate from the Saginaw Valley State University in the USA.

India Elections : Slipper Flung at Karnataka CM

Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa became the latest target of the 'footwear missile' on Tuesday when a slipper was hurled at him while he was addressing an election meeting. Police said the attacker identified as Chandrasekhar was arrested soon after...

Edit | Read full story »

Leave a Reply

You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>