Dharam Singh

Dharam Singh

Dharam Singh

Date of Birth : December 25, 1936

Mini Biography :

Narayan Dharam Singh (born December 25, 1936), was the 17th Chief Minister of Karnataka state in India and a former Lok Sabha member. He was sworn into office on May 28, 2004, and left office on February 3, 2006. He represents Congress (I) in the state. The coalition government formed by the Congress (I) with the help of Janata Dal (Secular) came to an end in February, 2006 when H. D. Kumaraswamy engineered the downfall of the Dharam Singh administration.

Dharam Singh was born in Nelogi village of Jewargi taluk) in Karnataka state. He comes from a small numbered Rajput community in the state. Dharam Singh has an MA and LLB degrees from Osmania University, Hyderabad. He was an advocate by education and a politician by profession. He is married to Smt Prabhavati Dharamsingh. He has two sons Vijaysingh and Dr.Ajaysingh and a daughter Priyadarshini. He has five grandchildren Aarnav, Anushka, Vikramaditya, Aryaveer and Saina.

Dharam Singh has emerged as one of the front-ranking leaders of North Karnataka region, winning from the backward Jewargi Assembly constituency for eight consecutive terms .For the low profile, controversy-shy but an astute politician, Narayan Singh Dharam Singh, occupying the coveted Chief Minister’s post has come as a dream come true in his four-decade long checkered political career.

He is the second leader from Gulbarga to become the chief minister after late Veerendra Patil. However he failed to hold on to his constituency for a record ninth time in the recently concluded Assembly elections losing to a political lightweight – Doddappagouda Patil Naribol from the Bharatiya Janata Party with a margin of 52 votes.

In the recently held Loksabha elections 2009, Dharam Singh contested from Bidar constituency and emerged victorious defeating a political heavyweight Mr Gurupadappa Nagamarpalli by a margin of 39,619 votes.

* 1960: Councilor, Gulbarga City Municipal Council.
* 1972: Member of Karnataka Legislative Assembly.
* Member of State Backward Classes Commission.
* Minister for Urban Development, Karnataka.
* Minister for Home & Excise, Karnataka.
* Minister for Revenue and Social Welfare, Karnataka.
* Minister for Public works, Karnataka.
* Chief Minister Of Karnataka (28 May 2004 to 02 Feb 2006)
* Leader Of Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Assembly {08-02-2006 to 28-11-2007}

Leave a Reply

You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>