Oommen Chandy

Ommen Chandy

Ommen Chandy

Date of Birth : 31 October, 1943

Mini Biography :

Oommen Chandy (born 31 October 1943 in Kumarakom) is an Indian politician. He was the Chief Minister of Kerala from 2004 to 2006, and he has been the Leader of the Opposition in the Kerala Legislative Assembly since 2006.

Oommen Chandy or ‘Kunjoonju’ was born to K.O. Chandy and Baby Chandy in a Syriac Orthodox family. Being called by friends and close family members He is also a trade unionist and heads several INTUC affiliated outfits. Born in an upper class,affluent family at Puthuppally, he finished schooling from St. George High School, Puthuppally, and graduated from CMS College and St. Berchmans College, Changanassery. Later he took a bachelors degree in law (LLB) from Government Law College, Ernakulam.

He started his political career through the Kerala Students Union (KSU), which he served as president from 1967 to 1969. He was elected as the president of the State Youth Congress in 1970. He served as Minister for Labour from 11 April 1977 to 27 October 1978 in A.K. Antony ministry. When K. Karunakaran-led Congress ministry came in to power in 1981, Chandy became the Minister for Home from 28 December 1981 to 17 March 1982. He served as minister for labour and housing (1977-78), home minister (1981-82) and finance minister (1991-94).

He has been representing Puthuppally Constituency for the last 39 years. Elected to Kerala Legislative Assembly in 1970, 1977, 1980, 1982, 1987, 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2006..

On 30 August 2004, he was elected the Congress Legislature Party leader at the end of a meeting by AICC observers. His election was announced after it was officially cleared by the Congress president, Sonia Gandhi, subsequently was sworn in as the chief minister of Kerala on 1 September 2004, after the resignation of A K Antony. There was a sudden wave of pro-development activities in the state and Mr Chandy was supported by captains of the industry such as Mr.Yousuf Ali(EMKE), Dr.P.Mohammad Ali(GALFAR), Dr.G.C.Gopala Pillai(FACT) and others.

He resigned as Chief Minister on May 12, 2006 following the defeat of his party in 2006 Assembly Elections.

Leave a Reply

You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>