Purno Agitok Sangma

P A Sangma

P A Sangma

Date of Birth : September 1, 1947

Mini Biography :
Purno Agitok Sangma (born September 1, 1947, Meghalaya, India) is an Indian politician. He is a former Speaker of Lok Sabha and Chief Minister of Meghalaya. He was a co-founder of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and remained a member of the Lok Sabha for eight terms, i.e. 6th, 7th, 8th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, and 14th Lok Sabha.

P.A. Sangma was born on 1 September 1947 in village Chapahati in West Garo Hills, Meghalaya to Dipchon Ch. Marak and Smt. Chimri A. Sangma.

After completing his graduation in (B.A. (Hons.) from St. Anthony’s College, Shillong, he went to Dibrugarh University in Assam for his Masters degree in International Relations. Subsequently, he also obtained a degree in Law (LL.B).

In 1973, he became Vice-President of the Pradesh Youth Congress in Meghalaya and became the General Secretary the next year. He served as the General Secretary of the Pradesh Congress Committee of Meghalaya from 1975 to 1980.

In 1977, he was elected to the 6th Lok Sabha from Tura (Lok Sabha constituency) and remained a member of the Lok Sabha till 14th Lok Sabha, except for the 9th Lok Sabha. From 1980 to 1988, he served the Union Government of India under various capacities. He served as the Chief Minister of Meghalaya from 1988 to 1990. In 1991, when he was elected to the Lok Sabha again, he again served the Union government till 1996 when he became Speaker of Lok Sabha.

In January 2004, P.A.Sangma created a split in the NCP. This decision seems to happen after Sharad Pawar is becoming close to the NCP’s former rival Sonia Gandhi. After losing a battle for the NCP election symbol, Sangma later merged his faction with Mamta Bannerjee’s Trinamool Congress, forming the Nationalist Trinamool Congress. He resigned from his Lok Sabha seat on October 10, 2005 as a member of All India Trinamool Congress, and was reelected as NCP. candidate on February 2006.

In the Lok Sabha elections 2004 Sangma was one of two NTC MPs elected. He resigned from 14th Lok Sabha in March 2008, to take part in Meghalaya Legislative Assembly election, 2008

Positions held

* 1991-93 – Union Minister of State, Coal (Independent Charge)
* 1993-95 – Union Minister of State, Labour (Independent Charge)
* Feb.-Sept. 1995 – Union Minister of State, Labour
* 1995-96 – Union Cabinet Minister of Information and Broadcasting

Leave a Reply

You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>