Bye-elections to the Legislative Council of Karnataka and Maharashtra by the Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs).

  The Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced the bye-election schedule  to be held to fill  three casual vacancies in the Karnataka Legislative Council and one casual vacancy in the Legislative Council of Maharashtra by the Members of Legislative Assembly.  The details of the vacancies are as follow:



Name of Member

Cause of vacancy

Term Upto

K.S. Eshwarappa


Resignation as they got elected to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly on 16.05.2018


Dr. G. Parameshwara


V. Somanna



Pandurang Pundlik Fundkar

Death  on 31.05.2018



2.    The Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to the Legislative Councils of Karnataka and that of Maharashtra by the Members of the respective Legislative Assembly to fill the above mentioned vacancies in accordance with the following programme: –



Subject of Programme

Dates and Days


Issue of Notifications

14th September, 2018 (Friday)


Last Date of making nominations

22nd September, 2018 (Saturday)


Scrutiny of nominations

24th September, 2018 (Monday)


Last date for withdrawal of candidatures

26th September, 2018 (Wednesday)


Date of Poll

3rd October, 2018 (Wednesday)


Hours of Poll

9.00 A.M. to 4.00 P.M.


Counting of Votes

3rd October, 2018 (Wednesday) at 5.00 P.M.


Date before which election shall be completed

6th October, 2018 (Saturday)


(The Original Press Note issued vide Election Commission No.ECI/PN/60/2018    dated 7th Sept., 2018)                                                              



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *