India Elections : Shibu Shoren to fight both Lok Sabha, Assembly polls

The Jharkand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and the Congress on Thursday finalised a seat-sharing deal in Jharkhand with former chief minister Shibu Soren contesting both Lok Sabha polls and an assembly by-election.

As per the agreement JMM will fight in five seats and Congress in seven seats.

Soren will contest from Dumka, Suman Mahto from Jamshedpur, Teklal Mahto from Giridih and Hemala Murmu from Rajmahal seats, a party release said.

Soren will also contest Jamatara assembly by-election scheduled for April 23.

Jamatara seat was vacated by Vishnu Bhaiya, a suspended Bharatiya Janata Party legislator, in January this year after Soren lost by-election from Tamar on January 8.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *