India Elections : Navin Chawla takes over as Chief Election Commissioner

Chief Election Commissioner N. Gopalaswami laid down the office of the constitutional post at Nirvachan Sadan, headquarters of the Election Commission of India, on Monday. He held the post for about 34 months. A 1966 batch IAS officer of Gujarat cadre, he became Election Commissioner in January 2004.

Navin Chawla, presently an Election Commissioner has taken over as a Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India today.

Chawla is a 1969 batch IAS officer and will be in charge as a CEC till Jul. 29, 2010.

It is the first time that any CEC demitted office in the midst of an election process. While Gopalaswami oversaw the first phase of the five phased general elections, Navin Chawla will preside over the remaining four phases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *