India Elections : Polling for Inner Manipur seat begins

Polling for the Inner Manipur Lok Sabha seat constituency began at 7 am today amidst tight security.
A total of 8.25 lakh electorate, 4.34 lakh of them being women would exercise their franchise during the day.

Voters turned out in large numbers and were seen standing in long queues outside 970 polling booths spread across the valley districts of Imphal East, Imphal West, Thoubal and Bishenpur as the weather was clear.

The CPI has fielded Dr M Nara and the MPP has put up the former Union Minister, Th Chaoba of the Manipur Democratic Alliance (MDA), jointly formed by the MPP, NCP, Manipur State Congress Party (MSCP) and the National People’s Party (NPP), in the contest.

The other three candidates include a woman candidate L Khetrani of Rashtriya Bahujan Congress Party (RBCP), the lone woman candidate, A Rahman and N Homendro as Independents.

Manipur has two lok sabha seat, polling for the Outer Manipur seat was held on April 16 during the first phase of polling.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *