India Elections : EC announces final results of general elections

India has yet again been surprised by Indians. Last time, no one thought a Congress-led UPA would emerge winners. And yet like a silent tsunami, the Congress swamped its rivals to triumphantly return to power.

The Election Commission of India Sunday formally announced final results for 541 of the 543 elected seats in the Lok Sabha or lower house of parliament.

Counting in two seats had to be stopped Saturday as the electronic voting machines had developed snags. The seats were Tonk-Sawai Madhopur in Rajasthan and Chandauli in Uttar Pradesh.

United Progressive Alliance : 261

Congress: 205 Trinamool Congress: 19 Nationalist Congress Party: 9 DMK: 18 National Conference: 3 Jharkhand Mukti Morcha: 2 Muslim League Kerala State Committee: 2 All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen: 1 Bodoland People’s Front: 1 Kerala Congress (Mani): 1

National Democratic Alliance : 159

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP): 116 Janata Dal-United: 20 Shiv Sena: 11 Akali Dal: 4 Asom Gana Parishad: 1 Rashtriya Lok Dal: 5 Telangana Rashtra Samithi: 2

Third Front: 80

Bahujan Samaj Party (SP'>BSP): 21 AIADMK: 9 Biju Janata Dal (BJD): 14 MDMK: 1 Janata Dal-Secular: 3 CPI(M): 16 CPI: 4 Forward Bloc: 2 Revolutionary Socialist Party: 2 Telegu Desam Party: 6 Haryana Janhit Congress: 1 Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik): 1

Fourth Front: 26

Samajwadi Party: 22 RJD: 4

Others: 14

Assam United Democratic Front: 1 Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi: 1 Swabhimani Paksha: 1 Nagaland People’s Front: 1 Sikkim Democratic Front: 1 VCK: 1Independents: 9

India Elections Results 2009

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *