India Elections : The Youngest MP, Muhammed Hamdulla Sayeed

According to the Election Commission or EC, 31 MPs in the current Lok Sabha are in the age group of 25-35 years, while twelve are between 66-75 years. There are four MPs over 80 years, including BJP veteran L K Advani and Congress leader Sis Ram Ola. While the oldest parliamentarian at 88 is Ram Sundar Das from JD (U), the youngest MP is Muhammed Hamdulla Sayeed (26) from the Congress. In a neck to neck fight Muhammed Hamdulla Sayeed AB of the Congress party has won Lakshadweep Lok Sabha seat by defeating Nationalist Congress Party candidate with over 2000 votes.

26-year-old Muhammed Hamdulla Sayeed is the son of late PM Sayeed. Sayeed senior, a veteran Congress leader, represented Lakshawdeep in the Lok Sabha for 10 times in a row.

Muhammed Hamdulla Sayeed, Law graduate from Indian Society College in Pune defeated Dr P Pookunhikoya of NCP by 2198 votes. The Congress had lost the seat in 2004, first time since the seat was created.

It was his fathers death that made this law graduate from Indian Law School (Pune), take up politics.

Still single, Hamdulla is the seventh among eight siblings all sisters. All his sisters too are well educated four of them being doctors.

Higher education and staying away from home have not affected the core values. A practising Muslim even his cell number has last three digits as 786 he prays five times a day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *