India Elections : 59 women MPs in new parliament

A record 59 women MPs have been elected to the new Lok Sabha – the highest since independence, and 17 of them are less than 40 years.

A record 59 women were elected to the 15th Lok Sabha, with a majority – 23 – belonging to the Congress party alone.

In this election, 556 women candidates were fielded by various parties.

While the Congress topped the list, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) came second with 13 women being elected.

The All India Trinamool Congress, Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party (SP'>BSP) follow with four women each getting elected to the Lok Sabha.

The Janata Dal-United, Shiromani Akali Dal and Nationalist Congress Party have two women MPs each.

The Telangana Rashtra Samiti, Rashtriya Lok Dal, Shiv Sena, DMK and Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) have one woman MP each, according to the statement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *