15th Lok Sabha begins : members take oath

The first session of the 15th Lok Sabha began this morning. Senior most MP Manikrao Gavit was appointed Pro Tem Speaker. He will administer the oath to all 543 MPs today and tomorrow. The Election for the Lok Sabha Speaker will be held on June 3. Leader of the House, Pranab Mukherjee, Leader of Opposition, LK Advani and Congress President Sonia Gandhi took the oath. President Dr. Partibha Patil will address the joint session of the Parliament on June 4.

Mukherjee and Advani were followed by Congress President Sonia Gandhi who took oath in Hindi and BJP leader Sumitra Mahajan who took oath in Sanskrit.

Watching the proceedings from the Speaker’s enclosure were Priyanka Gandhi and her husband Robert Vadra, BJP leader Prakash Javadekar, Congress leaders Keshav Rao, Rajiv Shukla and Samajwadi Party’s Ram Gopal Yadav. Former MP Ramdas Athawale was also present in the special gallery.

After the Secretary General tabled the list of members elected to the House, Gavit said President Pratibha Patil had nominated senior MPs Basudeb Acharia (CPM), Arjun Charan Sethi (BJD), Biren Singh Engti (Congress) and Sumitra Mahajan (BJP) to preside over the administration of oath to the members.

Gavit also informed the House that SP member Akhilesh Yadav had resigned from his Firozabad seat on May 21. His resignation had been accepted on May 26.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *