India Elections : Seven former Chief Ministers took oath

Seven former Chief Ministers — of Karnataka, Jharkhand and Delhi took oath as members of the 15th Lok Sabha.

Delhi’s first woman Chief Minister Sushma Swaraj, who won the just-concluded election from Vidisha in Madhya Pradesh, took oath in Sanskrit.

Former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda, who is also a former Karnataka Chief Minister, took oath as a member of the Lower House along with his son H D Kumaraswamy.

Another former Karnataka Chief Minister N Dharam Singh (Congress), who won from Bidar, also took oath as member of the 15th Lok Sabha.

Madhu Koda, the former Chief Minister of Jharkhand, also took oath. Koda won the election from Singhbhum as an Independent and had extended support to the UPA government after the elections.

Two other former CMs of Jharkhand — Arjun Munda who won on a BJP ticket from Jamshedpur and Babulal Marandi who got elected as a JVM (P) candidate from Kodarma — also took oath.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *