Maharashtra Assembly Elections : MNS gets railway engine symbol

The Supreme Court of India directed the Election Commission to allot ‘Rail Engine’ symbol to Raj Thackeray’s Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) for the upcoming assembly elections in Maharashtra.

Free election symbols were allotted on Monday, not by the Election Commission but by the Supreme Court, to three registered but unrecognised political parties — Raj Thackeray’s Maharashtra Navnirman Sena, Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi and Jansuryashakti ahead of the Maharashtra assembly polls.

The distributional direction — `rail engine’ symbol for MNS, `whistle’ for Aaghadi and `coconut’ for Jansuryashakti — from among the list of free symbols was given by a Bench comprising Chief Justice K G Balakrishnan and Justice P Sathasivam despite stiff opposition by EC’s counsel Meenakshi Arora.

While, allotting the common symbol ‘Rail Engine’ MNS, the apex court ruled that if any other candidate had won the last elections on the same symbol, he would be allowed to retain it during this election.

The MNS has welcomed the Supreme Court verdict on symbol and said it is full prepared to contest the assembly elections in Maharashtra and win maximum seats. MNS will contest around 150 seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *