BJP announces 1st list for Maharashtra and Arunachal Assembly Polls

BJP announced its list of candidates for the oct 13 assembly elections in Maharashtra, Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh.

The candidate selection was done at a meeting of the party’s Central Election Committee chaired by BJP president Rajnath Singh. The meeting was attended by LK Advani, leader of the opposition (Lok Sabha), Arun Jaitley, leader of opposition (Rajya Sabha) and other committee members.

In Maharashtra, where the party is going to contest 119 of the 288 total seats, with ally Shiv Sena contesting the rest, it announced a first list of 66 candidates.

Maharashtra has been ruled by the Democratic Front – an alliance of the Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) for the past 10 years – and the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance is looking to regain power in the crucial state.

For Haryana, the party has named candidates for all 90 seats.

For polls to the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh assembly, the party on Saturday named seven candidates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *