Congress and JVM finalise a seat sharing agreement

After protracted negotiations, Congress and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha reached a seat sharing agreement for Assembly elections in Jharkhand with JVM contesting 19 seats, Congress 55 and friendly fights at remaining seven constituencies.

The JVM, which had refused to compromise on its demand for 31 of the 81 seats, has now settled for 26, although a few friendly fights cannot be ruled out in some constituencies, including Bokaro, Dhanbad, Jamshedpur (East) and Ranchi.

Announcing the alliance at a joint press conference, K Keshav Rao, AICC in-charge of Jharkhand and Babu Lal Marandi, President of JVM hoped that they would get the mandate and form a stable government in the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *