Jharkhand Assembly Poll Results : JMM to play kingmaker

ECI has declared the Jharkhand Assembly election results 2009. These are the results of the general elections that have been held been in the state after four years. It had not been held for all these years as the state, that had been separated from Bihar in the year 2009, could not secure the number of votes that are required for a party to gain majority. As a result, the state had witnessed a lot of brokering of seats and votes of the political parties, but Jharkhand had mostly been under the rule of the Governor.

Jharkhand threw up a hung Assembly today with the Congress-JVM(P) alliance as the largest grouping with 25 seats, well short of majority, and the JMM (18) and RJD (5) all set to be kingmakers — in a House of 81, any combine will need the support of at least 41 MLAs to form a government.

Indications of a tough bargain came from JMM which said it would back anyone who would support Guruji, the name given to Soren by his supporters. “I am not going anywhere. If anybody is willing to support us, we are ready to talk,” Soren told partymen as the results came in.

It is possible that Congress and BJP will be vying to form an alliance with the JMM. Another surprising aspect is that the people have chosen to elect so many independent candidates. Some reports claim that the Congress might end up joining hands with the JMM, but that is dependent on Shibu Soren being elected the Chief Minister. Congress has already made an alliance with the Jharkhand Vikash Morcha, that has secured 8 seats in the Jharkhand Assembly elections 2009.

The BJP-JD(U) alliance, which won 36 seats in the 2005 elections, was the second largest grouping with 20 seats. In New Delhi, BJP parliamentary board spokesperson Ananth Kumar indicated that his party did not rule out the possibility of forming a government in Jharkhand.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *