Harishankar Brahma appointed as third election commissioner

Harishankar Brahma has been appointed the third election commissioner. The former power secretary, who is a 1975-batch IAS of the Andhra cadre, is a personal choice of prime minister (PM) Manmohan Singh.

It was initially rumoured that a person from the legal service may be brought in as the third election commissioner since chief election commissioner (CEC) SY Qureshi and election commissioner VS Sampath both are IAS, but Brahma bagged the honour.

As secretary power, Brahma had done a commendable job and drew PM’s attention.

Hailing from Bodoland, he is the second election commissioner from the northeast after JM Lyngdoh. Brahma will serve for five years or until he attains the age of 65, whichever is earlier.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *