Notification issued for 5th phase poll in Bihar

The Election Commission Friday issued the notification for the fifth phase of the six-phase Bihar assembly elections.

In the fifth round due Nov 9, polling will be held in 35 of the 243 constituencies of the state assembly.

Some of the districts going to polls in this phase are Maoist-affected, including Gaya, Jehanabad and Arwal, among others.

The Central Election Commission has directed the state to take adequate security measures for peaceful polls. It announced that polling will be held in the Maoist-affected constituencies between 7 a.m. and 3 p.m. while the voting will take place in the rest of the constituencies between 7 a.m and 5 p.m.

Bihar will elect the 243-member assembly in staggered polling that begins Oct 21 and ends Nov 20. The results will be announced Nov 24.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *