Around 53 per cent Polling recorded in Phase-I of Bihar election

Bihar’s 47 Assembly constituencies, spread across seven districts, which underwent poll for the first phase of State Assembly elections on Thursday witnessed 53 per cent polling.

Brisk polling was reported in the eight districts namely-Madhubani, Supaul, Araria, Kishanganj, Purnea, Katihar, Madhepura and Saharsa.

The polling was started around 7 AM in the morning in all districts with full security.  The Election Commission had arranged for peaceful polls in all districts. The polling was ended up at 5 PM in the evening. But due to some threat, the polling in Sirmri Bakhtiarpur which was in Saharsa district was ended up before 3 PM. The 10 percent poling was recorded between 7 AM and 10 AM. Another 10 percent voting was recorded after 2 hours.

On the afternoon, the polling place was filled with the voters. Voters showed more interest on voting this time. In the first round, there were 631 candidates including 52 women. Major seats were occupied by Congress and Bahujan Samaj Party.

The Election Commission arranged special ramps and Braille-EVMs for the physically and visually challenged voters. In Supaul, Kishanganj, Araria, Katihar, Madhepura and Saharsa, the Electronic Voting Machines would find some problems. Webcast was introduced in 169 booths by the Election Commission for better information. By using helicopters, aerial patrolling was executed for the safety and security. Around 85 booths were governed by Central paramilitary forces and the remaining was governed by Bihar Military Police.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *