JVM-P wins Jamshedpur Lok Sabha seat, BJP loses deposit

The ruling National Democratic Alliance in Jharkhand on Monday suffered a setback after the nominee of former chief minister Babulal Marandis JVM-P romped home in the by-poll to the Jamshedpur Lok Sabha seat.

Jharkhand Vikash Morcha (P) candidate and former IPS officer Ajay Kumar defeated his nearest rival and state BJP president Dineshanand Goswami by a record margin of 1,55,726 votes.

Sudhir Mahto, the JMM candidate and a former deputy chief minister, finished third with 1,14,575 votes and AJSU Partys Aastik Mahto got 98,472 votes.

Congress candidate Banna Gupta polled 48,956 votes.

The by-poll was necessitated after Chief Minister Arjun Munda, who won the seat by 1.20 lakh votes in the last general elections, vacated it after he was elected to the state assembly from his home constituency Kharswan in Saraikela-Kharswan district in February.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *