keen battle between BSP and Congress in first phase polls

Uttar Pradesh first phase voting begin for 55 seats over 10 districts today. It’s a keen battle, especially between the ruling SP'>BSP and a resurgent Congress, and one that is likely to set the tone for what will happen over the next 25 days and six more phases in this make or break UP assembly elections elections 2012.

Polling is being held in Sitapur, Barabanki, Faizabad, Ambedkar Nagar, Bahraich, Shravasti, Balrampur, Gonda, Siddharth Nagar and Basti districts amid tight security. Of the 55 seats, Mayawati’s SP'>BSP holds 32. The Samjawadi Party, which lost power to Mayawati in 2007, had won 16 seats then

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *