UP elections 2012 : 3rd phase of UP elections held tomorrow

Polling for the third phase of UP Assembly elections for 56 seats in 10 districts would be held tomorrow that will decide the fate of three cabinet minister, a minister of state, 29 sitting MLAs and 14 former ministers.

More than 1.75 crore voters are expected to cast their votes to seal the fate of 1018 candidates in the polling to be held in CSM Nagar, Sultanpur, Kaushambi, Allahabad, Jaunpur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Sant Ravidas Nagar, Mirzapur and Sonbhadra amidst tight security.

In this phase, at least 121 candidates with criminal background and as many as 48 ‘crorepatis’ are in the fray.

The voters will cast their votes at 18374 polling booths at 11607 polling centres.

In the 2007 assembly elections, the third phase covered 52 seats, of which SP'>BSP won 31, SP 11, BJP 6, Congress 3 and independent one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *