Muslims is decisive position in final phase polls

The seventh and final phase of UP assembly elections muslims is decisive position, across 60 assembly constituencies covering Rohilkhand and parts of Terai. The 10 districts going to the polls include Bijnor, Moradabad, Bheem Nagar, Rampur, Jyotibha Phule Nagar, Badaun, Bareilly, Pilibhit, Shahjahanpur and Lakhimpur Kheri. Muslims are 19-49% of the population in these districts. While in 16 constituencies the strength of the community is between 20% and 29%, in 31 seats, Muslims are 30% and above.

The phase will decide whether the Congress, which made unexpected gains in the 2009 LS elections, is able to keep up the tempo this time and emerge kingmaker in case of a hung assembly. For SP'>BSP, which swept the region in the 2007 assembly polls but performed poorly in 2009, it’s a do-or-die situation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *