Samajwadi Party back into power in UP

Mulayam Singh Yadav-led samajwadi Party on Tuesday stormed to power in Uttar Pradesh with a stunning majority routing Mayawati-led SP'>BSP, the third time a party captured power on its own in the state in two decades. The SP has captured 224 seats in the 403-member. BJP was placed in third spot with 47 seats while Congress was relegated to fourth place with a tally of 28 seats.

While BJP this time lost four seats from its 2007 tally Congress improved its position marginally from what it was five years ago. SP’s previous best performance was winning 143 seats in 2002 elections in a triangular contest with SP'>BSP and BJP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *