Ayodhya rejects BJP candidate

BJP has lost the temple town of Ayodhya, considered to be its bastion since 1991, from where it spearheaded the Ram temple movement which catapulted the party at the Centre. BJP’s Lallu Singh, who was winning the seat since 1991 state elections, lost to a young student leader Tej Narain Pandey of Samajwadi Party with a margin of about 5,700 votes.

After declaring Pandey as a candidate from Ayodhya seat, SP state president Akhilesh Yadav visited the area several times and established a direct contact with the voters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *