Chief Ministers of Assam

1. Gopinath Bordoloi 11 February, 1946 to 6 August, 1950 Indian National Congress
2. Bishnu Ram Medhi 9 August, 1950 to 27 December, 1957 Indian National Congress
3. Bimala Prasad Chaliha 28 December, 1957 to 6 November, 1970 Indian National Congress
4. Mohendra Mohan Choudhury 11 November 1970 to 30 January 1972 Indian National Congress
5. Sarat Chandra Sinha 31 January 1972 to 12 March 1978 Indian National Congress
6. Golap Borbora 12 March 1978 to 4 September 1979 Janata Party
7. Jogendra Nath Hazarika 9 September 1979 to 11 December 1979 Assam Janata Dal
8. Anowara Taimur 6 December 1980 to 30 June 1981 Indian National Congress
9. Kesab Chandra Gogoi 13 January 1982 to 19 March 1982 Indian National Congress
10. Hiteswar Saikia 27 February 1983 to 23 December 1985 Indian National Congress
11. Prafulla Kumar Mahanta 24 December 1985 to 28 November 1990 Asom Gana Parishad
12. Hiteswar Saikia 30 June 1991 to 22 April 1996 Indian National Congress
13. Bhumidhar Barman 22 April 1996 to 14 May 1996 Indian National Congress
14. Prafulla Kumar Mahanta 15 May 1996 to 17 May 2001 Asom Gana Parishad
15. Tarun Kumar Gogoi 17 May 2001 to 14 May 2006 Indian National Congress
16. Tarun Kumar Gogoi 14 May 2006 to till date Indian National Congress

Assam Assembly Elections Results 2011

Congress made a significant victory in Assam assembly poll 2011 with 80 seats out of 126. The Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi made a hat-trick without giving his opposition to get up. The Congress won 80, while opposition AGP won only 8...

Edit | Read full story »

Political parties want Assam Assembly elections before Bihu : S Y Quraishi

Political parties in Assam want the upcoming Assembly elections in the state to be completed before the Rongali Bihu festival from April 14 but date for the polls is yet to be finalised, Chief Election Commissioner S Y Quraishi. "We met...

Edit | Read full story »

India Elections : EC relaxed the model code in states where elections completed

The Election Commission Monday said it has partially relaxed the application of model code of conduct in the states where parliamentary elections have been completed. The relaxation would now enable ministers to review implementation of ongoing development programmes in the states...

Edit | Read full story »

India Elections : 55 percent polling in second phase

An estimated 55 percent of the 194 million electorate voted Thursday in the second phase of the Lok Sabha polls held across 12 states. The states which went to polls Thursday were Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka,...

Edit | Read full story »

India Elections : 2041 in fray for Phase II of LS polls

Duelling campaign for the April 23 round-two Lok Sabha elections in 141 constituencies ends today, leaving contestants including Rahul Gandhi, Sharad Pawar, Ramvilas Paswan and Sushma Swaraj to wait for voters to decide their fate. At the end of the second...

Edit | Read full story »

India Elections : PM to cast his vote in Assam

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, who did not cast his vote in 2004 parliamentary elections and also skipped the Assembly polls two years later, would exercise his franchise in Assam on April 23 for the Guwahati Lok Sabha constituency. "Yes, I will...

Edit | Read full story »

BJP announces seven candidates for Assam

BJP on Monday released its list of seven candidates for Lok Sabha seats in Assam. The list of the party, which is in alliance with Assam Gana Parishad in the state, includes Sudanshu Das (Karimganj-SC), Kabindrapurkayasth (Silchar), Kulendra Doulagapu (Autonomous District-ST),...

Edit | Read full story »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *