E K Nayanar

E K Nayanar
E K Nayanar
Date of Birth : December 9, 1919
Date Of Death : May 19, 2004

Mini Biography :

Erambala Krishnan Nayanar (December 9, 1919 – May 19, 2004) was an Indian politician leader of the Communist Party in Kerala and the Chief Minister. He held the post three times 1980-81, 1897-91 and 1996-2001. He holds the distinction of serving in the post for the longest period of time – 11 years.

Nayanar was born in Kalyassery in Kannur district of Kerala. He joined the Communist Party in 1939. He participated in the Kayyoor-Morazha peasant uprisings and was forced to go underground to evade arrest. When the Communist Part of India (CPI) split in 1964, Nayanar joined sides with the CPI-M (Communist Part of India – Marxist).

In 1967 he was elected to Lok Sabha from Palghat (now Palakkad). He was elected to Kerala Assembly six times. Among the legislative constituencies he won from were Irikkur, Malampuzha, Trikaripur and Thalassery.

He became the Chief Minister of Kerala for the first time on January 25, 1980. His term ended in 1981. He served a four-year term starting from 1986 and a full five-year term in 1996.

Nayanar was also an editor of Desabhimani Daily.

Nayanar died in New Delhi following a heart attack.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *