Chief Ministers of Maharashtra

1. Yashwantrao Chavan 1 May 1960 to 19 November 1962 Indian National Congress
2. Marotrao Kannamwar 20 November 1962 to 24 November 1963 Indian National Congress
3. Vasantrao Naik 5 December 1963 to 1 March 1967 Indian National Congress
4. Vasantrao Naik 1 March 1967 to 13 March 1972 Indian National Congress
5. Vasantrao Naik 13 March 1972 to 20 February 1975 Indian National Congress
6. Shankarrao Chavan 21 February 1975 to 16 April 1977 Indian National Congress
7. Vasantdada Patil 7 March 1978 to 18 July 1978 Indian National Congress
8. Sharad Pawar 18 July 1978 to 17 February 1980 Progressive Democratic Front
9. Abdul Rehman Antulay 9 June 1980 to 12 January 1982 Indian National Congress
10. Babasaheb Bhosale 21 January 1982 to 1 February 1983 Indian National Congress
11. Vasantdada Patil 2 February 1983 to 1 June 1985 Indian National Congress
12. Shivajirao Nilangekar Patil 3 June 1985 to 6 March 1986 Indian National Congress
13. Shankarrao Chavan 12 March 1986 to 26 June 1988 Indian National Congress
14. Sharad Pawar 26 June 1988 to 25 June 1991 Indian National Congress
15. Sudhakarrao Naik 25 June 1991 to 22 February 1993 Indian National Congress
16. Sharad Pawar 6 March 1993 to 14 March 1995 Indian National Congress
17. Manohar Joshi 14 March 1995 to 31 January 1999 Shiv Sena
18. Narayan Rane 1 February 1999 to 17 October 1999 Shiv Sena
19. Vilasrao Deshmukh 18 October 1999 to 16 January 2003 Indian National Congress
20. Sushil Kumar Shinde 18 January 2003 to 30 October 2004 Indian National Congress
21. Vilasrao Deshmukh 1 November 2004 to 4 December 2008 Indian National Congress
22. Ashok Chavan 8 December 2008 to 15 October 2009 Indian National Congress
23. Ashok Chavan 7 November 2009 to till date Indian National Congress

Now, Homeless can be voters

If all goes well, for the first time in India, homeless too would be able to cast their votes in the municipal elections to be held next year. For, the Maharashtra State Election Commission (MSEC) has made a provision by...

Edit | Read full story »

India Elections : MLC polls on June 10

Biennial polls to 37 seats in the Legislative Councils of four States, and a by-poll to a seat in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council will be held on June 10. The notification will be issued on May 24, the Election Commission...

Edit | Read full story »

Maharashtra Assembly Election 2009 : Cong-NCP set to 3rd successive govt in Maharashtra

Maharashtra’s ruling Congress-NCP alliance seems set to form its third successive government in the state as it has emerged as the largest political formation in the assembly elections, even though trends from counting of votes indicate that the two parties...

Edit | Read full story »

Counting for Assembly polls in 3 states to start tomorrow

Counting of votes in Assembly elections in Maharashtra, Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh will be taken up tomorrow. Considered the first crucial test of popularity for major political parties after the Lok Sabha polls, the elections in the three states were held...

Edit | Read full story »

Congress ahead : According to Exit polls

Indians voted for state legislative assemblies Tuesday in what was seen as the first major test of the ruling alliance's popularity after the April-May general elections. An unexpectedly high 60% voter turnout in Maharashtra, a higher 68% turnout in Haryana and...

Edit | Read full story »

EC directed the CEO of Maharashtra, Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh

The Election Commission has directed the Chief Electoral Officers of Maharashtra, Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh, where State Assembly elections will be held on October 13, to ensure compliance with its instructions that there would be no campaign within the constituency...

Edit | Read full story »

Campaigning ends for Tuesday’s assembly polls

Campaigning ended on Sunday for the October 13 Assembly polls in Maharashtra, Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh, being seen as the first key test of popularity for major political parties after the Lok Sabha elections. The over four week-long canvassing saw top...

Edit | Read full story »

Congress-led alliance faces a stiff challenge from the Shiv Sena-BJP combine in Maharashtra

The stage is set for the Oct 13 assembly elections in Maharashtra where the ruling Congress-led alliance faces a stiff challenge from the Shiv Sena-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) combine for the control of one of India’s most industrialized states. In 2004,...

Edit | Read full story »

Election Commission bans opinion and exit polls

Publication and dissemination of results of opinion and exit polls of assembly polls in Maharashtra, Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh will be banned from tomorrow till the end of polling, the Election Commission said. The ban period would start from 3 PM...

Edit | Read full story »

Campaigning for assembly polls on Oct 13 to end this evening

Campaigning will come to an end today evening for the assembly elections scheduled to be held on October 13 in Maharashtra, Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh. All parties have thrown their strength into election campaign. Congress Chief Sonia Gandhi will be addressing...

Edit | Read full story »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *