India Elections : Election Commission announces poll schedule for five states

The Election Commission has announced the poll schedule for five states – Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Manipur, Punjab and Goa.

While Manipur, Goa, Punjab and Uttarakhand will see a single-phase election, Uttar Pradesh will witness seven phases of polling. The counting will take place on March 4, 2012.

The polls will be held in Manipur on January 28, in Punjab and Uttarakhand on January 30, 2012 and in Goa on March 3. Polling in Uttar Pradesh will begin from February 4, and will conclude on February 28.

Leave a Reply

You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>